Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog



Read My Reviews

We adopted Sampson at age 6, driving him over 2000 miles to our home in Seattle. He had lived on a Farm and had absolutely NO training. A big dog, weighing close to 100 lbs. was a lot to handle in a small condo and on long walks. He had another habit of taking his large paws and asking for attention on legs, arms, etc. � all very painful. We wanted to enjoy every moment with Sampson, but the lack of training presented challenges. So, I found Jack online and based on other testimonials reached out. Jack called me that same day and we discussed the situation & set up a 2 Hr. consultation/training appointment. I cannot say enough about how those 2 hours have already changed our lives. I am writing this 2 days later! We learned so much and the behavior of our dog has really changed. We will need to practice daily with him on the new techniques we have learned and are excited about this! We signed Jack up for a year of support to help train us more than our lovely Sampson! :) We would highly recommend Jack to anyone who is having challenges in the training of their dog � he�s changed out lives! Thank you Jack! Erica & Colin in Kirkland
Erica & Colin M., Kirkland, Washington 22nd October 2013


What an incredible find in Bark Busters and Jack Knudsen! I'm not the type to write reviews, but I absolutely had to for this. My husband and I are old and sedentary. We wanted the companionship that only a pet could provide, so we overdosed on Corgis - 3 of them! Well, this trifecta of evil would go over to the side of our property (2 acres - you'd think they would explore all that) and shriek at the neighbor woman in her garden. I do mean shriek. High pitched and annoying as nails on a blackboard. They would stand about 10 feet away and if she moved towards them, they'd run, still shrieking. It got so awful, the neighbor came over and requested that I give my dogs away. I was in tears because she was right to be upset, but I couldn't imagine living without the little terrors. FYI - they behave well and are perfect darlings in the house and with friends. My husband and I would try to chase them down to get them back in the house, but we live in a forest. We'd be stumbling about in the woods, twisting ankles, running into branches and generally being buffoons. Of course, our dogs thought it was fun and just kept going. We bought $400 worth of collar "zappers" to snap the dogs out of it, but it didn't work at all. Muzzles were removed by the dogs immediately. In desperation, I started calling vet hospitals; I was going to have them "debarked". No one that I called would do it; I understood - it's a horrible thing to even contemplate. One receptionist suggested Bark Busters, so we gave them a call. I thought it would be an awful experience. I pictured the Dog Whisperer or the British dominatrix lady coming out and hauling our tired old butts around the woods while being berated and forced to run and jump with the dogs. I steeled myself to face broken bones and hurt feelings. Instead, we got Jack Knudsen. He came to our home and looked about and discussed our problem. We watched, in amazement as he calmly showed the corgis who the boss was and that barking wasn't acceptable. He never touched a hair on their heads and he didn't berate us for the lazy pet owners we are! ALL IN ONE VISIT my dogs now listen to the command to stop and come back. I had to go out near the forest once and once only to enforce. I simply did what Jack said to do and that was the end of it. Please understand - ONE VISIT. I couldn't be more shocked and amazed. My family is much happier and my neighbor isn't threatening anymore. I no longer feel frustrated and angry at my little fur friends. I am still stunned. My entire family owes Mr. Knudsen. What a miracle worker he has been.
Linda W., Snoqualmie, Washington 16th September 2013


Jack has done wonders for our newly adopted 3 yr old chocolate lab. Within a few days of adoption we noticed Mika loved to bark at everything outside. However our biggest concern was her uncontrollable barking and lunging at other dogs on walks (I spent more time finding ways to leave the house just so Mika wouldn�t see a dog). We immediately contacted Jack and within a few days he showed up. The first session was about 2.5 hours and most of it was spent training us (both of us are new dog owners). However we all also realized how stubborn our dog really is. Jack embraced her stubbornness and modified training techniques so that they worked for her. 11 days later, Mika listens to us and she is able to walk by other dogs (tail wagging with no lunging and barking!) The transformation wasn�t overnight, and it did take a lot of extra time outside our sessions to reinforce the corrected behaviors. Something we did not expect was while spending most of our time correcting her leash pulling and lunging behavior, the smaller problems inside the house were corrected almost immediately (whining, barking for attention, etc.). So in the end I can safely say all of our hard work paid off. Thank you Jack for everything!! We are now a happy family :)
Matthew H., Snoqualmie, Washington 15th August 2013


Cleo has had some bad habits for a few years now. I thought I had tried everything and had virtually given up on changing her behaviors. When Jack told me that we could meet for an initial two hour session and that might possibly be all she needed, I thought to myself, "well you haven't met Cleo!", but sure enough, after the first session, she is 95% improved. We will continue to work with her at home on our own with a goal of 100% which I now believe can happen! Thanks so much, Jack!
Debbie, Black Diamond, Washington 22nd May 2013


OMG! My husband and I rescued an adorable Minature Dachshund and it wasn't too long before we had serious thoughts we had made a huge mistake. Her barking was constant. She barked at everything that made a noise inside or outside of the house. The more she barked the louder I yelled. She wanted nothing to do with anyone but me. It was very clear who was calling the shots. She had trained me very well. It only took Jack about 30-45 minutes with her and the change was dramatic. It took alittle longer to train my husband and I. To say the outcome was remarkable is an understatement. We are still in awe of how making a few small changes has improved her behavior. I would highly recommend Bark Busters to anyone who is struggling with a difficult training issue. Mattie is now that sweet, lovable, funny, happy doxie we knew she could be. We just might adopt another dachshund so she has a buddy.
Chris Kent, Maple Valley 11th April 2013


WOW! I cannot express how happy I am with the results I got from Bark Busters! Jack came to my home two days ago to help me with my three barking dogs, and also to help two Chihuahuas stop fighting. Within one hour, my dogs were quiet and it was clear they knew that I was now the new alpha dog in the family! And the fighting is down to a quiet rumble, and with a couple more days of practice, I expect complete peace and quiet in my home. I was absolutely flabbergasted with the results and the easy technique! No treats or yelling required! :) Jack was amazing and knew exactly how to help me. My vet, Dr. Brar, with Klahanie Center Veterinary Clinic, recommended Bark Busters to me and they came through with flying colors! Thank you Bark Busters.
Allison McFaul, Issaquah 27th November 2012


I don't often write reviews for things I buy or services I receive, but in this case the situation was very special to me. A couple of months ago my wife and I lost our eight-year-old yellow lab, Bo, to kidney failure. We were heartbroken that we could not save her, and after some time we decided to save another yellow lab. We found a yellow lab in Texas that was less than two-years-old. She already had a litter of puppies and for some reason was left at a shelter. She was full of love, but she had no manners and no training. She seemed to be too much for us to handle the first two days and we were thinking of giving her back. We could not control her. Enter Jack Knudsen with Bark Busters. Thanks to a referral from a friend I contacted Jack and Sarah Knudsen who promptly called me back. I was desperate and Jack rearranged his schedule giving me a two and a half hour session the next day. Jack showed up at my home on time and his training and tips were nothing short of a miracle. My wife and I were so impressed we signed on for a guaranteed year's worth of training. We now had a dog we could deal with after one session and we had a great night. Jack came back a day later and spent another hour with us and we are now working on our training at home and our new rescue dog is improving by the hour. We are very thankful for the quick, passionate, and professional service we received. I would not hesitate to recommend Jack and Sarah Knudsen to family and friends. Many thanks to them for giving my wife and I the knowledge to keep this wonderful, loving dog.
Dr. Gary K. Cowart DDS, Maple Valley 25th September 2012


Jack Knudsen came out to work with our pack of dogs on a variety of issues from door-barking to inter-dog aggression to recall when off-leash. He was very positive and kind to the dogs and to the humans! By the end of the first 2 hours we had the [nine] dogs staying back away from the door so that we could let people in, we had the 2 dogs that hate each other laying within 5 feet of each other in a relaxed manner, and we had learned some distance-training. Jack is very knowledgeable about dog behavior and ways to get everyone to speak a language they understand. We look forward to our "homework" with our dogs and to working with Jack in the future. I would definitely recommend him for anyone that is having issues with a dog (or many!).
Dr. Heather Stewart, Carousel Mobile Veterinary Se, Black Diamond 1st September 2012


I couldn't believe how much our little Jack Russell changed after just one session with Jack. We learned how to communicate with our dog, so we actually received more training than Haley did. Haley had the bad habit of barking continually while at the Dog Park. Jack actually met me at the park and showed me techniques for helping her not to get out of control. I had completely stopped taking her to the dog park because of the barking and the parks are the one place where she can get the exercise she needs. We are very grateful to Jack and highly recommend his services, you will not be disappointed!
Pat Weaver, Redmond 9th June 2012


Jack is an excellent trainer! I adopted my little four pound dog in November and immediately began training with Jack. He was able to help us with easing her anxiety as she was a shy little pup at first. Jack also helped me potty train her and train her to become a Therapy Dog. I would never go back to the "traditional" way of dog training as Bark Busters' method makes so much more sense and is much more effective. Thank you, Jack!
Tana Fortini, Sammamish 13th April 2012


Jack was recommended by my vet after my adoption of a Heinz 57 from a shelter. I learned so many things from watching him interact with my new dog. The behavior changes are amazing after only 3 sessions! I thought I knew a lot about dog behavior, having had dogs for most of my life, but this method is really fabulous and easy. He takes time to explain, demonstrate and then critique you as you try the new things. This really worked well for both me and the dog. I really recommend this trainer.
Paula Stewart, Bellevue 28th February 2012


I contacted Jack as a result of my Boston Terrier who had been exhibiting aggression while on leash over the past year. I had tried another training technique, to no avail and really needed to get the behavior under control. Jack and I also identified some other behaviors that needed to be put in check, so we addressed those first. Within an hour and a half, our dog was a complete gentleman at the door, was no longer jumping up on us and was walking with a loose leash, as if had been doing this forever. The next step was to encounter dogs on leash and use the same techniques we had used to control the other behavior. To my sheer amazement, my dog was completely relaxed and under control with the very first dog we encountered. After a total of 2½ hours, our dog had transformed from a little guy with a lot of uncontrolled energy, which sometimes equated to aggression, to a complete gentleman. We have continued to practice the techniques each day and we have continued to gain more confidence with each outing. The great thing about Jack's training is there are no clickers or treats involved, no shouting, no pleading with the dog, etc. We utilize a strong command voice, with one command word (which seems to be the universal word for mom and dad are in control) and a special collar. In addition, we are coached to offer all kinds of praise when we get the desired response, which is very frequent. All three of us feel really good about our new formed pack. Thank you Jack for helping us out.......and it was so easy!
Leslie Burns, Redmond 12th November 2011


I needed a return visit from Jack because Jaxon was developing a real anxiety towards other dogs. He would react in a proactive aggression and was so nervous when I walked him anywhere he knew there were dogs. After a session with Jack spent walking Jaxon through his trouble areas and learning how to handle it...Jaxon is like a different dog!! I've been walking my dogs separately and working on his training. He got the message so quick! He walks right next to me and when I see the slightest bit of distraction, I make the sound and work the collar and he tunes right back in! It's so awesome! I got the thunder shirt Jack recommended as well, and put it on him this morning...oh my gosh...he is the calmest dog on the planet! It's like giving him a tranquilizer. I walked him with it on and it makes it even easier. It's a pleasure walking him now...I would never have believed that there would be so much change in such a short amount of time. We saw a dog on their balcony this morning and he started to react..I worked the collar and gave him a sound correction, he backed down, sat and looked right at me! It was awesome! The other thing I find interesting and encouraging...usually when I feed them Jaxon won't eat until Ginger gives him permission...usually by eating some of his food. Now, I tell him to eat and he eats! It truly is about taking charge and having him think of me as the leader! So, it's not about Jaxon being a problem, it's about me not stepping up and taking charge! I'm just so thankful you helped me get that! Thanks so much for bringing the joy back into my relationship with Jaxon. I am working with Ginger as well to make sure she knows I'm the leader so they are both on the same page.
Paulette, Auburn 27th September 2011


We have two labs that needed attention in different ways, and Jack was able to create a lesson plan to meet each dogs individual needs. He came prepared with a variety of dog friendly tools that we could use to better our communication during training. We learned how be better pack leaders, and had a great time with hands on exercises and instant results! We are looking forward to our follow up visit and would recommend Jack to anyone looking to better their dog's behavior.
Sam & Elena, Redmond 3rd July 2011


Jack is a wonderful trainer, very smart and patient! I feel so lucky to have found him and Bark Busters.
S. Richey, Medina 5th March 2011


For further information about how you can find help for your dog

Call Jack at 1-877-500-BARK (2275) or e-mail Jack directly